Grand Central

Screen Shot 2013-06-06 at 7.46.55 PM

I could watch people go by at Grand Central for hours. Whether it’s the tourists with their backpacks and awestruck expressions snapping pictures of the beautiful star-riddled ceiling, or the businessmen hurrying like ants in a line, or the summer brides there for their wedding photos, Grand Central is a beautiful microcosm of the city outside.

It’s partially because it, along with the original Penn Station were designed to be these regal marvels that didn’t discriminate between the rich and the poor. No matter what your circumstances in life, you were getting to catch your train along with everyone else and take in the station’s grandeur.

I bring up Grand Central because it’s doubtlessly on some people’s bucket lists to go there. Meanwhile, I have been there more times than I can count. It’s always been a backdrop to my life that was there if I wanted to go to the city.

But every time I’m there, I try to take a moment to take it all in and see it from the eyes of the newcomers, standing still with their camera phones held high like a tribute. That is, if I’m not sprinting to catch a train!

Screen Shot 2013-06-06 at 7.45.30 PM

A bride and groom pose outside Grand Central. So sweet!

My meaning is twofold. Both that we should take time to appreciate the bucket list worthy items that we take for granted, and that we shouldn’t just barrel through our achievements like a laundry list.

Wherever you live, I’m sure there is something in your life that would be on someone’s bucket list. And your bucket list items, like seeing the Great Wall of China or swimming with a dolphin, are everyday occurrences for someone else. So if we try to experience the common things in our lives as bucket list worthy, maybe we’ll find a whole new level of appreciation for them. Even the little things. I find gratitude for warm, sunny days, or just being able to go to the farmer’s market – knowing that for some people, these little things are impossible or rare.

So I think I’ll take a few extra minutes as I wait for my train, and watch as life goes by at Grand Central.

Love,
Gabriele

3 thoughts on “Grand Central

  1. Yes, I love this! What a great post. It’s true that we forget to appreciate the sights that we see every day. Definitely going to try to open my eyes a little more 🙂

    • I always feel like I’m in a different world there! And thank you for commenting! I love your blog – you went to Purchase too, right? I was a journalism major, just graduated!

Leave a Reply

