Bibliosmiles and the Summer Book-It List

While Brilliant Buckets may have been silent for the past few months, I never stopped writing. That, of course, would be as unthinkable to me as stopping breathing! My Evernote and Google Drive are full of short stories, and lest I deprive the world of my tired ramblings, I’ve been buzzing around Danielle’s literary blog, Bibliosmiles.

Bibliosmiles is an amazing site that celebrates all things bookish! While all my posts can be found here, I’ve written about real-life book shrines, books that have made it to the TV screen, names in literature, and so much more!

And, of course, something very near and dear to our mission here! My summer book bucket list. You didn’t think I’d ever stop making lists, did you? You can read more about the parameters over on Bibliosmiles, but here are the novels I’m reading this summer.

1. A book you always meant to get around to
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Because it’s a classic!

2. Reread a childhood favorite
Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt
Because… Who doesn’t want to live forever? Winnie/Jesse ❤ ❤ ❤

3. A book someone else picks for you
Paper Towns by John Green
Because my best friend demands I worship John Green almost as much as she does.

4. A book in a genre you don’t usually read
The Life List by Lori Nelson Spielman
Because I don’t usually read chick-lit. Pleasantly surprised by this one!

5. Something originally written in another language
The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
Because as an INFP and pisces, it’s shameful I haven’t read this yet.

6. A book in a different format
Twenty Love Poems and a Song of Despair by Pablo Neruda
Because all of our hearts need a little poetry now and then

7. A classic
The Brothers Karamazov by Dostoyevsky
Because I have to read at least one Russian literary masterpiece.

8. A book by your favorite author that you haven’t read yet
The Graveyard Book or Death: The High Cost of Living by Neil Gaiman
BECAUSE HE’S THE BEST.

9. A nonfiction book
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
Because I know little about her life, and it’s good to explore human experiences vastly different from my own.

10. A book either published or a bestseller from the year you were born
Wild Swans: Three Daughters of China by Jung Chang
Because like the choice above, it will transport me to a time and place I’ve never been.

Bonus book! 11. A book you haven’t read that was adapted to a movie/TV show
The Secret Life of Bees by Susan Monk Kidd
Because I adored The Invention of Wings, also by her.

 

So there are my choices. I’ve finished a handful so far, and there’s two months left in summer! I’m sure I’ll be reviewing them for Bibliosmiles, so poke around there if you’re bored.

Love always,
Gabriele

Leave a Reply

