Liebster Award

Whoa! Here on my little forgotten, hidden corner of the internet, I was given a Liebster award by the lovely Chelsea of Time is No Enemy. Chelsea is a fantastic blogger, with a genuine heart and passion for writing. And we both went to the same crazy arts school! I love her posts – they never fail to be clever, genuine, and quirky. She’s becoming a great interwebs friend of mine, and everyone should check out her blog too!

liebster award logo

What is the Liebster Award?
The Liebster Award was created to recognize new bloggers and welcome them to the blogosphere. In German, Liebster is a term of endearment, meaning basically dearest, sweetest, nicest, beloved, et al. When so many of us feel like perhaps we’re writing into the abyss, the Liebster Award is such a lovely gesture! Thank you so much, Chelsea! I often feel like quitting this blog, but the bits of encouragement I receive from you and others makes me keep going! Even if what I do here is just pointless rambling.

For the Liebster Award, I must answer 11 questions (I realize now that I answered the wrong ones… oops). 

1. Why did you start blogging?
Well. My first blog was a Xanga in middle school, along with an actual spiral notebook that I wrote in at school and was passed around by my friends, so they could read my documentation of our antics. I loved the sense of community and camaraderie from sharing our stories. I’ve had several blogs since then, and I keep this one going to keep pursuing that thread of connectivity that I think all humans have. I’m an odd one.

2. What inspired or influence you to write initially?
Oh gosh. I’ve always written. Even before I could actually write, I was inventing stories for my Barbies and legos and things. My other friends wanted to just dress up Barbies. I… learned about the Salem Witch Trials at a young age and decided to hold one for my Barbie dolls. Sigh. Clearly, I was all on track to grow up into Wednesday Addams. What happened?

But yes. I was always writing little stories in the margins of my class notes, or daydreaming entire worlds. I love stories. I think storytelling has always been a part of the human experience, since we were all cavemen smearing paint on rock walls.

3. Why did you choose the name of your blog?
This blog was supposed to keep my journalism gene alive, and be more of a series of interviews with people I met on their bucket lists. Hence, Brilliant Buckets! But I’ve gotten lazy with the interviews and it’s turned into pontifications on the weird flotsam in my mind.

New year’s resolution is to start up the interviews! 😛 Be less fearful! Ask for interviews!

4. What do you want to achieve with your blog?
I want to understand other people, I want to know their stories. Journalism intrigued me for that very reason! There are so many lives on this planet, and each of them different, each of them a world unto themselves. Neil Gaiman put it best:

“Everybody has a secret world inside of them. I mean everybody. All of the people in the whole world, I mean everybody — no matter how dull and boring they are on the outside. Inside them they’ve all got unimaginable, magnificent, wonderful, stupid, amazing worlds… Not just one world. Hundreds of them. Thousands, maybe.”

5. What is your greatest achievement?
Um. I’m fairly impressed I’ve even just survived to the age of 23. I suppose I’m very proud of how well I did in college, and that I managed to survive a monthlong trip to Europe without any real grownups. (Because, at 22, I obviously didn’t count as one).

In terms of writing, it’s definitely NaNoWriMo! Hitting that 50k is like winning an Olympic gold medal.

6. What has been your biggest challenge?
I’m terrible at standing up for myself, though I gladly stand up for others. I have a perfectionist streak and sometimes I become so overcome with weighing all the possibilities, that I become paralyzed by indecision. That’s something I really try to work on.

7. What is your biggest fear?
To do more harm than good. To lose my creativity, my imagination, my curiosity in the world.

8. What is your dream?
I think I have too many. But. My overarching dream, that will make me die happy, is to have helped someone. I want to make a difference in someone’s life. When I was younger, these were more drastic dreams like rescuing victims of human trafficking, girls in countries where they aren’t allowed to read, even children here in bad situations. I got seriously, overly upset reading about their suffering. I still do. But I’ll be happy if I help someone, somewhere. I know I can’t save the entire world.

At least, not until my superpowers kick in.

9. How do you want to be remembered by people?
As someone who was kind, who genuinely believed in other people, and tried to help them. Oh gosh. I really have turned into a Hufflepuff.

10. What did you want to be when you grew up?
I wanted to be everything when I was little! Seriously. I was like Barbie – girl has basically EVERY career, why couldn’t I? But I have wanted to be a writer since I was in elementary school. Hopefully something comes of that one day.

11. What is your favorite post on your blog and why? (Be sure to link to it so we can check it out!)
Oh no. I’m so indecisive. I don’t even have a favorite pair of socks. Well, maybe I do.

Were 11 questions enough? Nope! The Liebster Award also prompts me to spew off 11 random facts about myself. Just in case you weren’t bored yet of hearing about my life. 

1. My first love as a toddler was Barney the dinosaur. My mom wasn’t as enamored as me, and gave my Barney plushie to the dog when I wasn’t looking. D:

2. I’m really, really made uncomfortable by the existence of jellyfish. I don’t think they should exist.

3. I’m 25% German (Rhinelands), 25% Irish (Cork/Waterford), 50% Italian (Sicilian/Napolitano) and 100% awesome. Or at least I try.

4. My mom was going to name me Anastasia, but at the last second, wanted me to have a more ‘vengeful’ name, as she puts it. I could totally be an angel wielding a sword of fire.

5. I can’t pronounce ‘th’s unless I concentrate. Instead, they sound like ‘ds’. I hate the number 33 because of this. Also, some words, I have to entirely avoid. The words ‘thong’ and ’thick’ ends up being something a tad different.

6. I’m convinced JK Rowling based Dolores Umbridge on my 4th grade teacher, or that Dolores Umbridge escaped Azkaban and now works in suburban New York, crushing the souls of children

7. My first website (Geocities!) was when I was 8 or 9. It was a fan-site for the game Babyz.

8. I’m addicted to chewing gum, and was nearly beside myself when the only gum I found in France and Italy were chiclets, not sticks.

9. Despite being an upper-middle class white girl, I received a merit scholarship that emphasized diversity from one of my universities

10. My ultimate Pokemon team would entirely comprised of Eevee evolutions. Except, I’m still waiting on an Eevee that can use Fly.

11. I’ve been mistaken for a mannequin before. Three times. It was awkward.

And here are my three nominations for Liebster Award!

My Life After Purchase
Kim’s stories and wry observations always have me laughing. Like me, she’s trying to figure out what the heck post-college life is supposed to be. While she doesn’t post nearly enough (nudge, nudge, hint, hint), every time I get a notification from her blog, it totally makes my day. Kim and I were roommates (kickbutt journalism cohorts) in college, and her writing has always been accessible, clever, and laugh-out-loud funny.

Léna’s Lit Life 
Léna inspires me every day! She is incredible and does so much good in the world already! Léna is a writer who has led one of the most interesting lives of anyone I’ve ever met. She’s written a YA book, and now she leads Writopia Lab Westchester and Fairfield. She motivates young writers and helps them find their voice, and she tackles everything in her life with her endless enthusiasm, wit, and cheer.

Sincerely, Sara 
Sara isn’t a new blogger, but she’s definitely an amazing one. She has an enviable sense of style and fashion, and also attended my alma mater! I love her creativity and dedication to her blog. She always finds the cutest, quirky things that I instantly need in my life. My absolute favorites are her outfit posts inspired by literature. She’s also an extremely friendly blogger, and always makes me feel welcomed in the blogosphere.

If you choose to accept my nomination, then YOU must follow these rules:

1) Acknowledge and accept the Liebster Award by leaving a comment on the blog that nominated you.
2) Copy and paste the Liebster logo onto your blog.
3) Link back to the blogger who nominated you.
4) Answer the 11 questions posed to you by the person who nominated you.
5) List 11 random facts about yourself.
6) Nominate and link to 3—11 other blogs you enjoy that have less than 3000 followers.
7) List 11 questions for your Liebster Award nominees on your blog.
8) Inform your nominees by leaving a comment on their blog.

Nominees, here are your questions! (Or you could do what I mistakenly did, and answer same questions of the person who nominated you)

1) Why did you start your blog?
2) How do you define happiness?
3) If you could live anywhere, where would it be and what would you be doing?
4) What does an average day look like?
5) What makes you smile?
6) Beverage of choice?
7) Any weird writing quirks or routines?
8) Who are your inspirations?
9) When did you start writing?
10) What is your biggest fear?
11) In 10 years, where do you want to be?

Have fun!

Love always,
Gabriele

8 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Great work and congratulations! It was a lot of fun to read your answers. Neverwhere is one of my favorite books. I also enjoyed the BBC miniseries they adapted from it.

    I found you through Chelsea as I nominated her for the award. I will look forward to more of your writings and especially those interviews.

    • Thank you! Neil Gaiman is wonderful – I’m so excited to listen to the Good Omens one they’re doing.

      I’ve just started following you as well. I can’t wait to keep up with your awesome writing too! Hope you have a happy holiday! 🙂

      • Thank you for the follow and kind words. I appreciate them. I will be looking forward to more of your writings as well. Happy holidays to you and yours as well!

  2. I used to write crazy stories for my Barbies. No one ever wanted to play with me because there was a specific storyline we had to follow that I had created. I had the same issue where my friends just wanted to dress them up!

    I also used to be obsessed with gum. I was constantly chewing it and then I had a scare of TMJ, which I don’t know whatever happened to the pain, it miraculously disappeared after a year, but now I fear the pain will come back, so I only chew gum a couple of times a week.

    I think it would be incredibly interesting to read about others bucket lists if you get the interviews done! I mean, I definitely understand laziness and going after the interviews. I loved Journalism for about three years and then decided that I preferred writing behind my desk with my own thoughts than talking to others. And that makes me sound pathetic and like a loner, even though I swear I’m not!

    Loved your answers though!

    • Thank you for the award! I love that we were both writers, even when we were super little. And I really need to stop the gum thing. It’s such a bad habit, but at least it’s better than nearly every other addiction out there. And I’ll start up the bucket lists again. I loved journalism so much, but my introverted personality also puts me at odds with the bothering other people bit of it. Hope you’re having a lovely holiday time!

      • My introverted behaviors stunted me with journalism too! I am having a wonderful holiday! I wish the best to you!

Leave a Reply

