The Mysterious Phone Case

Life is full of mysteries. Sure, there are the big mysteries, like what is the meaning of life, why does everything that tastes good have to be bad for you, and why does it always rain when I wear my purple boots? But then there are the little mysteries. The ones that seem like they should have some clear, logical answer.

And instead, you find yourself staring straight on into your own version of the Twilight Zone.

A few weeks ago, I was about to drive to one of our offices, and I checked the backseat of my car to make sure it was clean. There was a phone case leaning up in the backseat. Okay, that was weird. It must’ve fallen out of my friend’s bag from the weekend.

Except the case was for a Samsung Galaxy. And neither of us, nor no one we know, has that phone. So I texted my friend and asked her if it was hers, anyway. Maybe it was a Christmas gift? Nope.

I quickly asked the other two people who had been in my car in the past several months. Nope.

My car is ALWAYS locked. So where did this phone case, the most random of objects, come from?

Feathers properly ruffled by this mystery, I headed to work. Where, shortly after, one of the interns arrived. He pulled his phone out of his bag, and mentioned he really needed to get a case for it.

And what type of phone did he have? A Samsung Galaxy. And the case (a nice case, mind you) fit perfectly. He got to keep the case. What else would I have done with it?

I still have no clue to where this phone case came from. Maybe it was Santa or gremlins or Jesus upgraded to an iPhone and decided to leave the other one behind, in my car of all places. It’s just an unanswered question that I don’t think I’ll ever have the answer to. I think maybe one day, we’ll find out that there are strange laws of oddity or improbability, alà Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. Or maybe it’s better we don’t know, like the quote from the books go:

“There is a theory which states that if ever anyone discovers exactly what the Universe is for and why it is here, it will instantly disappear and be replaced by something even more bizarre and inexplicable. 

There is another theory which states that this has already happened.”

But still. These mysteries and coincidences happen often enough that they leave cause for wonder. Like, how after five years, I randomly run into my freshman year roommate at a bar in the city, when there are countless bars and neither of us live near that particular one.

Or when I met a guy at a hostel, and while he could have been from any of the places in the world, his dad happened to work in my teensy tiny town. Weird.

Similarly, six degrees of separation is another thing that sometimes is so bizarre. On Facebook, you friend someone you met randomly, maybe someone you met in a completely different city across the globe, and then you see you have mutual friends in common. But the weirdest, most random mutual friends, like the kid that pulled your hair in preschool.

Or when the people I met eloping in an Icelandic viking wedding ended up being married by a super cool guy who happened to have been nominated for an Oscar.

But these aren’t mysteries, so much as coincidences. Still, they add a little oddness to life, a little jolt or jarring that feels a bit Truman Show. I think I’d enjoy a few more mysteries maybe, as long as they’re pleasant or harmless ones, like the phone case (unless the gremlins or Santa or Jesus or whoever decides they want it back).

Maybe the heavens can send a winning lottery ticket my way. You never know.

Love always,
Gabriele

 

4 thoughts on “The Mysterious Phone Case

  1. I love these oddities in life. It makes it interesting and confusing. And most definitely eerie sometimes. I love the quote you added about the Universe disappearing if we ever figured it all out. I definitely think that the world works in weird ways and I don’t know what I believe in, just that there is sometime out there, something huge we cannot explain or fully believe. But I am a believer in everything happening for a reason and strange coincidences. And at the end of the day, it is awesome for that intern to randomly receive a case for his phone. Leaving things as simple as, the simple things in life keep us going!

    • Yes! If everything happens for a reason, maybe the mysterious phone case will save his phone during a zombie apocalypse or something, and be the linchpin in him saving the world. …Or I have an overactive imagination.

  2. That is very peculiar about the phone case especially since people rarely remove their phones from the case.

    Life is very mysterious. The reasons are dependent on your perspective: people of Faith call this God while others feel all things are happenstance.

    I’ve had moments like those you described and they leave me scratching my head. We think the world is such a big place but I often wonder if it is much smaller than we thought.

    For example I grew up in Louisiana and there were two consecutive times I flew through Atlanta and had people on my plane connecting to different planes that I went to high school with. Our origination and destination points were different from one another’s. What were the chances?

    • It does make you wonder about concepts of probability and chances and fate! I don’t know if you’ve ever read Douglas Adams’s Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy but he writes of a spaceship that operates solely based on improbability and bizarre things happening. Maybe my phone case had something to do with that.

Leave a Reply

