Inspiration 02.08.15

February is seriously showing off this year. I thought January was supposed to be the cold one, but February is ruffling its frosty feathers and channeling its inner Elsa. In other news, this has been the week of insanity. My car got stuck in the snow twice, there were mishaps at one of the offices, the horrific train tragedy, and lots of other miscommunications and upsets. I’m tempted to make a Mercury in retrograde comment.

Still, there’s good times to be had too. Indulging in Valentine’s chocolates, catching up on the Oscar nominations, endless cups of tea, and having impromptu dance parties in your room. That last one might be just me.

Here are some lovely links for your weekend.

Have an absolutely charming, perfect week.

Love always,
Gabriele

17 thoughts on “Inspiration 02.08.15

  1. I was thinking about you when I heard about the train accident. Shortly after, you commented on my blog so I assumed everything was well. I am thankful for that.

    I have another friend who lives in the city and I texted her immediately after to make sure she was okay. She was thankfully. I have only been to the city once so I am not entirely familiar with the layout but it seemed like it happened a ways from where you both are but I wanted to be certain.

    My thoughts are with those that were involved especially the families of those killed.

    “Neverwhere” by Neil Gaiman is one of my favorite books. I also enjoyed the BBC Mini-series they put out about 20 years ago.

    • It happened about 20 minutes away from me, but I was picking someone up from the train and all the trains were stopped. So we knew something had to be up and then we found out. It is terribly, terribly sad.

      I love Neverwhere! One of my favorites as well. They did a radio version last year, with James McAvoy, Benedict Cumberbatch, Wilfred Mott, and Natalie Dorman. It was spectacular!

      • I’m glad you and your friend were okay. Things can change so quickly in life. It can be very scary.

        I didn’t know that about the radio version. Very interesting!

  2. New York is getting slammed with snow this year! Every time there is snow, I get an endless amount of pictures 😦 Keep warm! Also very scary about the Metro North. I’m glad your friend wasn’t traveling on that train! Or if she was, that she was safe.

  3. You’re permitted a Mercury in retrograde note! It’s reeking havoc on February and igniting some fear as we move under our sign. So many tragedies and mishaps this week. Add a little snow on top, and it’s a perfect recipe for snuggling under many blankets and drowning in soothing literature. And tea.

Leave a Reply

