Little Town, It’s a Quiet Village

Have you heard of the other name for the Millennials? We’re now also the boomerang generationcalled such because after we move away to college, many of us have to move back home for a period of time before we have the financial freedom to kickstart our independent lives. I never expected to be part of it, and hopefully I’ll be boomeranging back out soon enough.

I’ve lived in the same tiny hamlet for nearly my entire life. I went to elementary, middle, and high school here, with the same group of 200 or so kids from kindergarten to senior year. I know it inside and out, from the Fol-de-Rol that sets up in June, the frozen hot chocolates at our coffee shop, and how Broadway pizza is infinitely better than Amore’s.

Still, while I look forward to living in capital-letter The City, or somewhere else new and exciting, I’m sure there will be things I’ll miss about living at home in suburbia.

autumn roadtrip

Drives under autumn trees – one of the lovely things in suburbia!

Nature
Even when I’m driving to work, I drive past trees, the beautiful waters of the Kensico Dam (especially breathtaking at sunset), and … . There is a copse of trees in the back of my yard where deer peep out their heads and bunnies hop, noses twitching and eyes wide. Once, there was even a black bear who lazily ambled past. You can get lost in the woods here. I miss walking to my summer job as a teenager, where I’d skitter through my neighbor’s backyard, down a hill, and through a park!

One of my favorite spots in my town is in a nature preserve, where once you’ve climbed down and up hills (and sloshed through mud if it’s been raining), there’s a pond. You can carefully walk across a narrow stone ledge in the water to sit on a giant boulder at the other side and watch the water and listen to the birds. It’s a treasure.

Kids, Kids Everywhere
Everything in suburbia is really kid-centric. Especially in a town like mine, where people move here solely for the school district. It’s fun seeing kids running around in a safe place, playing outside, and being bounced around in carriages. It satiates my warm and fuzzy feelings of ‘awww look, a baby’, which is good, because I am in no way old enough or prepared for a child. 

The Uniform
If you’re an adult woman, it’s totally acceptable wearing yoga pants all around town, whether it’s stopping at the crazy-overpriced supermarket, the five or so nail salons, or our town square, which wants to be historical but is actually brand new. I’m all about wearing yoga pants and boots. 

No Chain Stores
I complain about my town being sleepy and quiet, but it’s also kind of nice not to see glaring McDonalds or Subway signs everywhere. It’s nice going into my local coffee shop, and falling into warm conversations with the people who work there, who’ve seen me grow up and know my family. 

Quiet
In the city, there are always sirens and cars going by, people talking. The whole city is pulsing with life. It’s nice to be home and have moments of utter quiet and stillness, where you can hear the soft exhalations of your breath and find peace in your head. 

Driving
I actually reaaaaally don’t like driving. I can’t wait to live in a place where I don’t need to drive (or at the very least, don’t have to dig my car out of the snow). But… I like road trips! Even just half-hour road trips to that magical smoothie shop or to check out a different sushi restaurant. I love being in the car with my friends during summer, with the windows down and wind streaming through our hair and carrying our laughs away with it. 

Of course, there are other things I’ll miss! Spending as much time with my family. Not having to think about going to a laundromat or carrying groceries sans car back to an apartment. One of my hellhounds, er, I mean dogs.

…But, there’s a whole wide world out there! And I’m looking forward to exploring more of it.

Love always,
Gabriele

15 thoughts on “Little Town, It’s a Quiet Village

  1. I think regardless of where or how you grew up, the memories of childhood always evoke a sense of safeness and familiarity. Reading this got me thinking of my own childhood — riding bikes, catching fireflies… I miss it sometimes. Maybe reflecting back on childhood is a natural part in everyone’s personal coming of age story… good luck on yours!

  2. I grew up in the same small town in Westchester that I still live in, but I really like living here for all of the reasons you mentioned and more! I love how close we are to the city, but at times it feels worlds away (which I guess is both good and bad). I also like how relaxing and laid back it is. I’ve considered moving to the city, but personally I like that it feels special going there. When I take a day trip there it feels special. Not that living there would make it feel less special, considering there’s so much to do and see, but I also like that at the end of the day I can leave and come back home.
    ~Sara

    • It is nice how laid back it is here! And you do a great job of finding the fun adventures there are to do in Westchester. I am constantly in awe of the cute things you post on your blog and Instagram.

      I just am restless and want to explore the world, whether it’s NYC or somewhere else!

  3. This actually made me a big home sick. While my town doesn’t seem as nice as yours sounds with the coffee shops and all, I miss the nature of home. I live in the woods back home and I love seeing the deer and turkey roaming around, and here there are deer and it is an absolutely crazy experience for them!

    I’ve actually never heard the term Boomerang Generation, but it makes so much sense, even though it is so unfortunate. I was/am a part of it as well. I hope for your sake you can boomerang right back out as well. Even though we miss home, moving back after moving out isn’t easy. At least it wasn’t for me! What I find interesting is that many Australians here don’t move out so fast. It’s rare to go away to college, but if you do, it is expected you’ll come home after you graduate and stay until 25-27 or so. While renting is incredibly expensive here too, there isn’t that urgency to get out like it is in the American culture.

    • Ahaha I’ve heard that in some other countries, animals like deer and raccoons and squirrels are commonly put in zoos, since they’re not indigenous. And right now you get to experience all the nature of Australia (though I’ve heard most of it can kill you). You should still try to smuggle back a kangaroo!

      It is very interesting how other countries have their adult children live at home longer, often until they marry. Some of my eastern European friends and Asian friends growing up lived with several generations in the house. Despite knowing this, I still feel that urgency to get going!

      • So much can kill you! And they are really into tricking people on what’s dangerous too. It’s like a joke all of Australia is in on! Maybe the US is the strange one in this situation. Maybe its weird to the rest of the world that we itch to get out of our home, since it seems we are a minority in this case.

      • Hahahaha have you heard of the dropbear myth that Australians tell yet? And I think the rest of the world has the itch, but they indulge it by actually traveling around and then coming home! We don’t travel around nearly enough

      • Don’t even start with the drop bears haha they had me going for 6 weeks about them! 6 freaking weeks! Until I didn’t want to go to this beautiful mountain range to hike because I was terrified they would kill me! Now I’m wicked cautious of everything they tell me haha

        And that’s a good point. Americans don’t travel. Its really sad. A ton of adults here that I’ve met have traveled more of the US than I have. That shouldn’t happen. The same was in Europe when I would meet people. Even some of the au pairs I know have traveled to more US states. So I guess our traveling and what we believe we could afford is heading to a new college location.

      • Hahaha, the whole drop bear thing is ridiculous. But it’s fun once you’re in on the joke!

        Right?! That’s crazy you’re meeting Australians who have been to more of the US than we have. We’re so work-work-work here, that we never take time to live. Hopefully the travel bug mentality you’re getting there will stay with you when you come back!

  4. Ahh, you speak the truth. I had my own place at 18, lived there for 7 years. After grad school, I couldn’t find a job that paid enough to manage the student loans and rent. I moved back home first, followed by a bunch of my single friends, then my married friends moved into their parents’ homes. Now, we’re all still here. The married folks have kids, both work full-time in professional careers (one in the army), still can’t manage. I moved to a more rural area but the economy caught up to us here, too. Nature is what I’ve got. I’m thinking my next move may be to North Dakota… Great post!

Leave a Reply

