My soundtrack

Do you have a soundtrack to your life?

I’m not suffering from auditory hallucinations or anything, don’t worry. Though… those could be fun. I do like to listen to movie soundtracks when I write and I can only imagine how fun it would be for us if our daily lives were accompanied by the music of an Oscar-winning composer.

I have playlists that are full of time-tested songs that I listen to for every mood. When I’m waking up and getting pumped for the day, when I’m folding laundry and want to dance around the house, when I need strength. When I want to be melancholy and moody. When I want to pretend I’m a Disney princess. When I want to scream and break things.

My playlists all have names like, ‘smile in the morning’, ‘dance, clean, whatever’, and ‘anytime, anywhere’. I have playlists for stories I write and for people in my life. In high school, I made ‘fan videos’ for my friends with songs I felt best fit them. Oh goodness. I half-cringe thinking back on that, but also, it was pretty gosh darn adorable of me. 

But, more than the playlists, there are certain songs that come up, time and time again in my life. Like a siren, they call to me to listen to them, find refuge in their melodies and words engrained by now in my heart. Here are ten songs I feel connected to.

“Far Away” by Ingrid Michelson
When I’m feeling dreamy and very Pisces, this song is full of yearning and head-up-in-the-clouds ideas.  

“Fallen” by Sarah McLachlan 
I make mistakes. Everyone does. Sometimes, I make really, really, terrible, horrible mistakes. This song is my crutch to get through those times. 

“For Fruits Basket”
This song is embedded in my soul. I have such a problem coming to terms with the decisions and mistakes I’ve made. The chorus of this song reminds me the mistakes are okay. It’s okay just to do better as I go on. 

“Moth’s Wings” by Passion Pit
This song is my childhood, summed up.

“Breathe (2 am)” by Anna Nalick
Another song that gets me through hard moments, moments when I feel like I can’t breathe. If I’m having a panicky moment, this song is a good reminder to calm down, chill out, and just breathe.

“You Make My Dreams” by Hall and Oates
For moments of silliness, and shaking it out and off, and time-traveling back to the 1980s. 

“Sleeps with Butterflies” by Tori Amos
Tori gets me. We are the odd girls, the dreamers, the quirky ones with starlight words spilling out of our lips and our ears, and we know we’re not quite at home here, like we would be among the clouds. 

“Dear Prudence” by The Beatles
I’m moody. Sometimes I need to get out of my own head. This song is a reminder to stop worrying, chill, go out and smell the roses, feel the sunshine. 

“Welcome to the Black Parade” by My Chemical Romance
My anthem. Get up, get out there, life is going to be legendary. Also, MCR was my teenage self’s absolute favorite.

I could probably go on a longwinded rant about why I love each of my favorite songs, cheesy or otherwise. But I think I’ll just leave my Spotify list of my ‘Anytime, Anywhere’ songs. The songs I can listen to endlessly, over and over.

Anyone else have some theme songs to their life?

Love always,
Gabriele

5 thoughts on “My soundtrack

  1. Why doesn’t it surprise me that many of these songs appear on my personal playlist as well? Fallen, Breathe. Yep. I have playlists, too, for each book and some pieces. As for my life’s list, the top few are: Building a Mystery, Fallen, World on Fire (Sarah McLachlan) for my deepest moments, Sunny Came Home (Shawn Colvin) for my need to flee moments, Tourniquet, Whisper, My Immortal (Evanescence) for my darkest moments, Silver Springs (Stevie Nicks/Fleetwood Mac), Because the Night (Natalie Merchant/10000 Maniacs) for my inspired moments. Ahh, my mind is spinning and that’s all I can come up with at the moment. xoxo

  2. I’ve only heard about half of these! But I have playlists just like this. Most things are better with music. And it would be amazing to have a soundtrack to our lives. Two of my go two songs are “Breathe” by Anna Nalick and then “Konstantine” by Something Corporate. I have others, but they aren’t coming to me at the moment. “Konstantine” has gotten me through so much in my life, its insane.

      • I’m going go have to check out your list! And seriously, music has helped me through so much in my life. Without it, I don’t know where I’d be!

Leave a Reply

